Incognito mode

Incognito mode allows you to keep your searches and visited sites private. In Incognito mode, the Yandex Browser beta version does not save your passwords, autofill data, search queries, history, or visited pages. All changes to settings, downloaded files, and bookmarks are saved.

  1. What Incognito mode protects you from
  2. Turn Incognito mode on and off
  3. Extensions in Incognito mode
  4. Is Turbo mode turned on in Incognito mode?

What Incognito mode protects you from

If you use Incognito mode, your browsing history and other data will remain unavailable to website owners that collect data for marketing purposes, or to other people who get access to your computer.

However, information about your activity will be available to your Internet provider (if it uses DPIDPI), the administrator of the local network through which you access the Internet, and the administrator of the site on which you enter your personal data.

Turn Incognito mode on and off

Use one of these methods to open a window in Incognito mode:

  • Click  → Incognito mode.
  • When you're on the page, open the context menu and select Open link in Incognito mode.
  • Press the Ctrl + Shift + N keys (in Windows).

The Incognito window is marked with the icon.

Just close the window to exit Incognito mode. Then the Yandex Browser beta version will delete all the cookies created while you were working in this window.

Extensions in Incognito mode

By default, extensions are disabled in Incognito mode. Some of them can be enabled manually. To allow extensions to be used in Incognito mode:

  1. Click  → Extensions.
  2. Tap More details under the description of the extension.
  3. Enable the Allow use in Incognito mode option.
Attention. If an extension does not have an Allow use in Incognito mode option, it means the extension will work in that mode.

Is Turbo mode turned on in Incognito mode?

By default, Turbo mode turns on automatically if the download speed is less than 128 Kbit/s. When this happens, the Turbo icon appears . When the speed reaches 512 Kbit/s or higher, Turbo mode is deactivated and the icon disappears.